54 Indian cities get Govt. approval to become solar-powered cities

By Editor


Greentech Lead India: India
Government has given approval for 54 cities to be developed as solar-powered
cities and sanctions have been granted to 39 such cities.

In-principal approval has been given to 54 cities to be
developed as solar cities in the country, according to New and Renewable Energy
Minister Farooq Abdullah.
Out of these 54 cities, sanctions have been given to 39 cities which have
engaged consultants for preparation of their Master Plan. Plans for seven of
these cities have been approved so far. 
The cities for which the Master Plan has been approved are Chandigarh, Thane,
Kalyan-Dombiwali, Aizwal, Kohima, Agra and Moradabad. 
The Ministry also told the House that the first phase of the Jawaharlal Nehru
National Solar Mission is scheduled to be completed by 2013.

India Government is providing central financial assistance
(CFA) of 30 per cent of the cost of installation of solar photo-voltaic systems
such as solar lanterns, home lights and street lights. 
The allocation for the Ministry has been increased from Rs 628 crore in 2007-08
to Rs 1,200 crore in 2011-12. 

[email protected]

Latest News